Found within the heart of Rio de Janeiro’s capital, following to the Central Station and Campo de Santana, on Avenida Presidente Vargas, the Parque Estadual Library is the headquarters of the State park Library network, which incorporates the Parque de Manguinhos Library , the Biblioteca Open Library and the Parque da Rocinha Library . Reponed on Marh 29, 2014, after broad extension and modernization work, the State Stop Library (BPE) was planned to get 5000 individuals per day. The reformulation of the BPE was not as it were engineering, but included the modernization of the collection and the development of administrations.
More than a library, the space is a cultural and recreation center, with activities centered on music, video, theater and other arts. On its 15,000 square meters, the State Park Library offers: a scholarly collection of over 250,000 items, craftsmanship books, comics, 20,000 movies, three million digitized songs, children’s library, 240-seat theater, 90-seat assembly hall seats, sound and video studios, multipurpose lab rooms, a “relaxation put” with sun loungers, show zone, scholarly café with organize for appears and soiree, eatery, porch, bicycle rack and hanging garden.
The modern library, however, has a long history: founded in 1873 by Dom Pedro II, the former Rio de Janeiro Library has gone through several addresses and changed its name several times. In 1943, it received its current address: Avenida Presidente Vargas, number 1261. The building was burned in 1984, which destroyed part of the building and its collections, and the renovated library was reopened only in March 1987, designed by the then Secretary. of Culture Darcy Ribeiro.
A great carioca heritage helps tell this story: Guanabarina, a collection of 30,000 books about the history of Rio de Janeiro, has a special place in the State Park Library collection. His rare books, which make up the state’s literary and historical memory, are on display in an exclusive room.